New agricultural visa option for South-East Asian workers

The Department of Home Affairs has announced the introduction of a new agricultural visa, allowing workers from 10 South-East Asian countries to undertake seasonal agricultural work in Australia.

The 10 countries are: Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Philippines, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand and Myanmar.

This visa is aimed at replacing the estimated 10,000 UK citizens that undertake agricultural and other regional work in Australia each year. UK citizens will no longer be required to undertake specified regional work to be eligible for a second Working Holiday visa.

The new visa programme will commence by the end of September 2021.

Contact Tang Law if you would like to know more about this visa option.

Leave a Reply