.

離婚 — 財產分配

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

表格11同意書

一段婚姻的結束是不幸的,如果在離婚的過程中,出現關於資產和財務如何分割的爭議,那可能會讓這段經歷更加難熬。幸運的是,大多數夫妻都能達成庭外和解。

通常來說,避免昂貴和冗長的法律訴訟的關鍵是要儘早處理這些糾紛,並獲得良好的法律意見。儘早瞭解《家庭法法案》條例,對你的權利和責任有一個更好的瞭解。無論是在保護你的權利,或是加快解決問題的速度上,在你與前伴侶的談判中,你都將有很長的路要走。

如果您和您的前伴侶能夠就分配財產達成協議,則應通過表格11同意書來記錄協議,該申請需要經家庭法庭批准。一旦獲得批准,同意令將由家庭法庭蓋章,並以與在法庭訴訟中作出的命令相同的方式對雙方具有約束力。

您不需要等到正式離婚之後,才申請表格11同意書。事實上,您可以(也應該)在與您的伴侶分居之後就開始進行申請和商討財產分配這一問題。

令人驚訝的是,即使各方自願同意這些條款,家庭法院也可能不會批准“表格11同意書申請”。 這是因為法院有責任確保以財產清算方式發佈的任何命令,其所造成的財務影響是公正的(公平的),如果法院不滿意,儘管雙方同意,仍可能拒絕批准申請。

在確定擬議的命令是否公平的情況下,法院會考慮到財務事項糾紛中討論的各種事項。

表格11同意書申請的替代方法是通過具有約束力的財務協議來記錄您的結算,該協議在離婚:約束性財產協議中討論。

 

約束性財產協議

約束力的財務協議可以在一段婚姻或者事實婚姻的破裂之後申請。

對於具有法律約束力的財務協議,協議必須符合“家事法”或“家事法庭法”規定的所有法律要求,包括雙方在簽署協議前必須獲得獨立的法律諮詢(由律師證明)。 一旦作出財務協議,它對當事人有約束力,只能通過新的協議或法院的命令才能被更改或終止。

根據有效的有約束力的金融協議,轉讓財產可以免印花稅/轉讓稅。
約束性財產協議的有效性或可執行性可以由家事法庭的人提出質疑。

一般來說上說,財務協議可以被法庭質疑的情況包括:

  • 財務協議沒有約束力,因為它沒有按照“家庭法”起草,或者包含違反“家庭法”的條款;
  • 即使財務協議具有約束力,如果它其中的條款違反了關於可執行性的一般法律(例如由於欺詐,脅迫,不當影響,不合情理的行為或失實陳述而形成的),那麼這份協議是不可執行的;

在協議有效期間內,在對子女的照顧、福利和發展上,如果要做出一些變動,將比較困難。

事實上,法院對約束性財產協議做出質疑的情況屢見不鮮。所以這對負責制定協議的律師有著極高的專業要求。不僅要對“家事法”有足夠的經驗和知識,並且也要對客戶的財務和個人情況有全方位的瞭解。如果在沒有準備好的情況下,隨便簽署了財務協議,還不如不簽訂協議。因為一份沒有完全考慮清楚的協議,可能會導致未來更多的混亂,也可能要花費更多的資金。

正是因為關於財務協議的可執行性的不確定性(其中一些因素可能是不可避免的),當談到一段關係的破裂時,通常您更應該選擇通過表格11同意書而不是財務協議來解決您的問題。

財務糾紛

如果您和您的前伴侶無法就財產分割達成協議,除了在家庭法院辦理財產事宜的訴訟,可能很少有別的選擇了。
但是法院訴訟本身是昂貴且漫長的。好消息是,大多數案件(約95%),在家庭法院在訴訟過程中就解決了,不需要審判。

在確定當事人之間如何劃分資產時,法院採用四個步驟:

  • 識別資產;
  • 確定各方的貢獻;
  • 確定各方的需求; 和
  • 考慮到上述調查結果的影響,做出“公正和公平的”決策。

作為第一步,法院將確定各方的所有資產和負債,並確定其價值。 在某些情況下,當資產位於海外或某些資產被一方所“隱藏”時,這一過程可能比較耗時和困難。

確定各方的貢獻可能是最為重要的一個步驟,其結果可能對法院作出的最終命令產生重大影響。 在評估貢獻時,法院考慮到直接經濟方面的貢獻(例如工資、儲蓄和遺產納入方面),非直接經濟方面的貢獻(例如對提高經濟資產上做出的努力)和家庭的福利貢獻(例如照顧孩子或履行家庭職責)。

第三步是考慮到各方的未來需求。 一般來說,這需要考慮各方的年齡,健康,教育,收入能力,和對子女的責任。 一旦各方的需求都得到認證之後,法院可以根據各自的需要對各方的財產權利進行調整。

最後一步要求法院考慮財產的最終分配是否“公正和公平”,並考慮為執行最終分工而需要作出的命令。 在這個過程中,法院通常需要確定哪一方將保留特定財產(例如結婚時共同的住所)或是否需要出售特定財產。

財產分割申請必須在離婚令終止後1年內提出。

配偶贍養費

配偶贍養費是婚姻關係中的其中一方在分居或離婚後所承擔的對另一方提供經濟資助以維持其基本生活開支的義務。一般情況下只是對生活較困難一方配偶的幫助,以幫助其擺脫經濟困境。事實婚姻或同居關係的伴侶也可以在關係結束之後,向另一方申請贍養費。

在判決配偶贍養費的問題上,法院必須綜合考慮接受贍養費一方對於贍養費的需求,以及另一方可以負擔的能力。一般來說,這需要看待各方的年齡,健康,教育,收入能力,收入和對子女的責任。 法院還將審查申請贍養費的一方,是否真的不具有經濟能力。

一旦贍養費的申請通過,支付贍養費的一方可以選擇定期或一次性支付。

如果當事人的財務狀況發生變化,任何一方均可申請變更或解除贍養令。

配偶贍養費必須在離婚之後的一年之內申請。

非訴訟糾紛解決方式

要求每個家庭案件的人都必須通過參與調節方案,真正努力解決與另一方的爭端,除非有家庭暴力的危險或其他非常緊迫的事項(例如尋求禁令)。

爭議解決可以有多種形式,包括:

  • 家庭輔導;
  • 談判;
  • 調解;

如果您和您的配偶在解決爭議期間達成協議,您應該通過提交表格11申請同意書來記錄協議。

如果無法達成協議,您可能必須考慮在家事法庭提出對財產方面的上訴。

禁制令

如果您擔心您的配偶會偷偷地轉移財產,或者抽走在財產分配中,可用於分配的共同財產,那麼您可能需要申請禁止令。禁令是法庭下令阻止某人做某事,或在某些情況下讓某人做某事的命令。

對於財產有關的案件,您可以獲得禁令,以阻止您的前伴侶出售,抵押或以其他方式處理財產。 如果該財產已經出售或有關財產本身就是現金,可以獲得“凍結”銀行帳戶或者扣押現金的命令。

在適當的情況下,家庭法庭還可以作出第三方的命令和禁令,包括例如停止受託人處理退休金的命令或命令,以防止銀行出售房屋。

根據家庭法法案的禁令適用於已婚和離婚的人,以事實婚姻和同居關係,包括同性伴侶關係。

通常,禁止令是以緊急和單方面為由提出的(意思是在您的前伴侶不在的情況下)。 如果申請為單方面提出,直到家庭法院作出命令之後,您的前伴侶將不會知道任何相關事宜。該法庭的目的是防前伴侶,在您等待法院審理您的申請期間,做出任何可能阻撓您申請結果成功的行為。

有關其他類型的禁令的資訊,請參閱離婚:子女——禁止令。

搜查令

在家事法庭的訴訟中,案件的每一方都有義務全面坦率地披露與案件有關的所有資訊。 然而,在某些情況下,一方有時候會隱藏,更改或銷毀對該方不利的資訊。

在這種情況下,你可能要考慮申請搜查令(也被稱為容許查察令)。讓您或您的代表進入對方的場所檢查,提取可能與案件有關的任何檔,或留下其檔的副本作為證據。

法院通常不願意授予搜查令,因為它具有入侵性,有時還具有破壞性。所以你要想法院提供足夠的證據,來證明若法院不頒發搜查令,您的前伴侶極有肯恩會銷毀、刪除,或者篡改與本案相關的對其不利資訊,從而對您的利益造成損失。

綜上所訴,通常搜查令在申請過程時(單方面申請),都是緊急和機密進行的,

違反命令和強制執行

當法院作出命令(包括雙方同意的命令)時,各方當事人必須遵守。 如果您的前伴侶在沒有提供合理原因和理由的前提下,拒絕執行法院命令,則造成了違反命令的行為,您可以提出違反命令申請。 違反申請將通知法院執行人沒有遵守命令。法院將在執行人違反命令的嚴重程度上,對其進行以下處罰:

  • 通知執行人其行為已經造成了違反命令的結果;
  • 對命令進行進一步的修改,以確保執行人遵守命令;
  • 處以罰金;
  • 對其監禁。

此外,您也可以向法院提出強制執行的要求,如果執行人所需履行的義務是可以“強制其執行的”。可強制執行的義務包括:

  • 支付債務的義務;
  • 簽署檔的義務;
  • 讓其佔有不動產的義務;
  • 轉讓或交付其財產的義務。

對於支付債務的義務, 法院可以通過以下方式強制執行義務:

  • 扣押和出售個不動產或個人財產的命令;
  • 扣押收益和債務的命令;
  • 扣押財產的命令;
  • 指定接收者的命令。

需要注意的是,法院有權因未能遵守命令而監禁一個人。
申請違反命令和強制執行命令可能會對其他人造成嚴重後果,在申請前應尋求法律意見。

養老金分配

 

當一段婚姻關係或者事實婚姻(同居關係)破裂之後,家庭法院可以幫助解決分配養老金利益的事宜。

養老金分配,可以通過3種方式來結局實現:

  • 簽署有約束力的財務協議;
  • 尋求家庭法院的同意令;或
  • 沒有達成協議的,由家庭法院決定。

雖然養老金分配法將養老金視為不同類型的財產,但當法院裁定如何在雙方之間分配養老金利益時,適用財產分類的一般原則。 事實上,在大多數情況下養老金可以像任何其他資產一樣被認為是一種資產,它被視為家庭資產池的一部分。

第三方訴訟
在財產案件中,通常只有配偶(或事實婚姻/同居關係上的配偶)是訴訟當事人。但是,如果法院認為必要的話,將會把第三方人士/機構代表人,加入法院的訴訟程式中,比如說:

  • 需要作出命令,聲明由第三方合法擁有的資產實際上由配偶之一擁有
  • 第三方交易是虛偽的;
  • 可能推翻命令或預期命令的交易,應當被質疑;
  • 第三方是一方當事人的密友或受其操控的人;
  • 需要禁止第三方採取一些對配偶的權利造成影響的行動;
  • 要求第三方協助進行財產清算;
  • 第三方債權人的權利需要調整。

有可能打倒訂單或預期訂單的交易應放在一邊;

有時,第三方可能設法想要參加訴訟過程,以確保其對婚姻財產的利益不被打敗。 一個常見的例子是,一對夫婦的父母希參加訴過程序,因為父母對其婚姻住所的權益沒有反映在產權證上。

.

SEPARATION: PROPERTY & FINANCIAL DIVISION BETWEEN COUPLES

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Form 11 Consent Orders

It is stressful enough to go through relationship breakdown, but the experience could become much more traumatic if there are disputes about how assets and finances are to be divided. The good news is that majority of couples are able to reach an out of Court settlement.

Often, the key to avoid expensive and lengthy legal proceedings is to attend to the disputes and obtain sound legal advice at the earliest possible opportunity. Having a good understanding of your rights and responsibilities under the Family Law Act early will go a long way in your negotiations with your ex-partner, both in protecting your rights and enhancing the chance of a speedy resolution.

If you and your ex-partner are able to reach an agreement in relation to the division of property, you should document the agreement by way of a Form 11 Consent Orders Application which will need to be approved by the Family Court. Once approved, the consent orders will be sealed by the Family Court and they become binding on the parties in the same way as orders made in Court proceedings.

You do not have to wait until you are formally divorced before you can make a Form 11 Consent Orders Application. In fact, you can (and probably should) start negotiation with your ex-partner immediately after separation.

It comes as a surprise to many people that the Family Court may not approve a Form 11 Consent Orders Application even if parties have agreed to the terms voluntarily. This is because the Court has an overriding duty to ensure that the financial effect of any orders it pronounces by way of property settlement is just and equitable (fair) and if the Court is not satisfied, it may decline to make the orders despite the parties’ agreement.

When determining whether the proposed orders are fair, the Court takes into account a variety of matters which are discussed in MARRIAGE/Disputes on financial matters Spousal maintenance.

An alternative to Form 11 Consent Orders Application is to document your settlement by a binding financial agreement which is discussed in SEPARATION: PROPERTY/Binding Financial Agreement.

Binding Financial Agreement

A binding financial agreement can be made after breakdown of a marriage or de facto relationship.

For financial agreements to be legally binding, the agreement must comply with all legal requirements set out under the Family Law Act or the Family Court Act including both parties must obtain independent legal advice (evidenced by a solicitor’s certificate) before signing the agreement. Once the financial agreement is made, it is binding on the parties and it can only be altered or terminated by making a new agreement or with orders from the Court.

A transfer of property pursuant to a valid binding financial agreement is free of stamp/transfer duty.

However, validity or enforceability of a financial agreement can be challenged by a person in the Family Court.

It may come as a surprise to many people that it is not uncommon for the Court to set aside a financial agreement. Broadly, the situations where a financial agreement can be challenged in Court include:

  • the financial agreement is not binding because it was not drafted in accordance with the Family Law Act or it contain terms that contravene the Family Law Act;
  • even if the financial agreement is binding, it is unenforceable because it contravenes the general law governing enforceability of contracts (e.g. it was entered into as a result of fraud, duress, undue influence, unconscionable conduct or misrepresentation); or

there are material changes in circumstances relating to the care, welfare and development of a child of the relationship which would result in hardship if the financial agreement remain in force.

The fact that there are a number of situations in which a financial agreement can be challenged in Court means the preparation of a financial agreement requires the solicitor to have sufficient experience and knowledge about the Family Law Act and received comprehensive instructions from the client with respect to financial and personal circumstances.  As a practical advice, having a signed financial agreement which was not prepared properly may cause more chaos and cost you more money in the future than not having one at all in the first place.

It is because of the uncertainties (some of which may be unavoidable) surrounding the enforceability of a financial agreement, when it comes to a relationship breakdown, generally you should opt to document your settlement by Consent Orders instead of by a financial agreement.

Disputes on financial matters

If you and your ex-partner are unable to reach an agreement in relation to the division of property, you may have little other option but to commence proceedings relating to property matters in the Family Court.

Unfortunately, Court proceedings are inherently costly and lengthy but the good news is that most cases started in the Family Court (over some 95%) are settled during the proceedings and do not require a trial.

When determining how assets are to be divided between the parties, the Court adopts a four steps process:

  • identifying the assets;
  • determining the parties’ contributions;
  • identifying the parties’ respective needs; and
  • considering the effect of the above findings and resolving what orders are “just and equitable”.

As the first step, the Court will identify all the assets & liabilities of the parties and determine its value.  In some situations, this could be a difficult process when there are assets located overseas or when some of the assets are “hidden” by a party.

Determining the parties’ contributions is arguably the most important step and the outcome of which is likely to have significant impact on the final orders to be made by the Court.  In assessing contributions, the Court takes into account financial contribution (e.g. wages, savings and inheritance brought into the relationship), non-financial contribution (e.g. physically carrying out building work on a property) and contribution to the welfare of the family (e.g. looking after children or performing home duties).

The third step involves considering the future needs of each party. Generally, this requires looking at the parties’ age, health, education, earning capacity, income and responsibility for children. Once the needs of each party are considered, the Court may make adjustments to the property entitlements of each party based upon their respective needs.

The final step requires the Court to consider whether the final division of property is “just and equitable” and consider the orders that need to be made in order to carry out the finial division. In this process, the Court is often require to determine which party is to keep a particular property (e.g. the matrimonial home) or whether a particular property is to be sold.

An application for property division must be made within 1 year after the divorce orders become final.

Spousal maintenance

Spousal maintenance is financial support paid by a party to a marriage to their former spouse in circumstances where they are unable to adequately support themselves. De facto partners may also seek orders for spousal maintenance after a breakdown of the de facto relationship.

In deciding an application for maintenance, the Court focuses on a party’s needs for maintenance and the other party’s capacity to pay. Generally, this requires looking at the parties’ age, health, education, earning capacity, income and responsibility for children. The Court will also look at whether the person applying for maintenance has any “ability to earn” which they are not exercising.

Once an order is made for payment of spousal maintenance, it can be either paid on a periodic basis or in a lump sum basis.

In the event that the financial circumstances of the parties change, either party can apply to vary or discharge a maintenance order.

An application for spousal maintenance must be made within 1 year after the divorce orders are made.

Alternative dispute resolution

It is a requirement that every person in family law cases must make a genuine effort to resolve the disputes with the other party by participating in some sort of dispute resolutions, unless there is a risk of family violence or the matter is very urgent (e.g. seeking an injunction).

Dispute resolution can come in many forms including:

  • family counselling;
  • negotiation;
  • conciliation; or

If you and your spouse can reach an agreement during dispute resolution, you should record the agreement by filing of a Form 11 application for consent order.

If an agreement cannot be reached, you may have to consider commencing an application relating to property in the Family Court.

Injunction

If you believe your ex-partner is taking steps to dispose family assets or otherwise siphoning money off with the aim to prevent you from receiving your entitlements in the family assets, you may need to apply for an injunction. An injunction is a court order to stop someone from doing something or, in some situations, to make someone doing something.

For property cases, you can obtain an injunction to stop your ex-partner from selling, mortgaging or otherwise dealing with a property. If the property has already been sold or the asset in question is cash, it is possible to obtain an order to ‘freeze’ bank accounts or an order to seize the cash.

In appropriate situations, the Family Court can also make orders and injunctions that affect third parties including for example an order to stop a trustee to deal with superannuation entitlements or an order to prevent a bank from selling a house.

An injunction under the Family Law Act is available to both married and divorced people, as well as to parties in a de facto relationship, including same-sex relationship.

Typically, an injunction application is made on an urgent and ex-parte basis (meaning it is made in the absence of your ex-partner). If the application is ex parte, your ex-partner will not know anything about it until after the orders are made by the Family Court, which is designed to prevent the ex-partner from doing anything that may frustrate your claims while you are waiting for the court to hear your application.

For information about other types of injunctions, please see SEPARATION: CHILDREN/Injunction.

Search order

In Family Court proceedings, each party to a case has a duty to give full and frank disclosure of all information relevant to the case. In some cases, however, a party may decide to conceal, alter or destroy information that is not favourable to that party.

In situation like this, you may have to consider applying for a search order (also known as Anton Piller Orders) which will allow you or your representatives to enter into the other party’s premises to inspect, remove or make copies of documents or other items which might be relevant to the case.

The Court is generally reluctant to grant a search order because it’s intrusive and sometimes disruptive nature. At the minimum, you will need to satisfy the Court that there are strong reasons your ex-partner will remove, destroy or alter the information and that you will suffer damages if orders are not made.

For obvious reasons, an application for search order is almost always required to be made secretly (by way of ex parte application) and promptly.

Contravention/enforcement

When the Court makes orders (including orders made by consent), they must be followed by the parties. If your ex-partner refuses or fails to follow Court orders without reasonable excuse, it is a contravention of the orders and you may make an application for contravention. An application for contravention informs the Court that the orders are not being followed and upon satisfying of the contraventions, the Court may:

  • put the other person on notice about the contravention;
  • make further orders or change existing orders to ensure they will be followed;
  • impose a fine on the other person;
  • imprison the other person.

Further, you may also seek to enforce the court orders if the obligations are “enforceable”. Enforceable obligations include:

  • an obligation to pay money;
  • an obligation to sign a document;
  • an order entitling a person to the possession of real property;
  • an order entitling a person to the transfer or delivery of personal property.

For an obligation to pay money, the Court may enforce the obligation by making:

  • an order for seizure and sale of real or personal property;
  • an order for the attachment of earnings and debts;
  • an order for sequestration of property; or
  • an order appointing a receiver.

It is to be noted that the Court has the power to imprison a person for failure to comply with an order.

An application for contravention or enforcement may have serious consequences to the other person and legal advice should be sought before an application is made.

Superannuation split

The Family Court can make orders that deal with superannuation interests in the event of a breakdown in a marriage or a de facto relationship.

A superannuation split can be achieved in 3 ways:

where no agreement can be reached, by determination of the Family Court.

While the superannuation splitting law treats superannuation as a different type of property, the general principles about property division apply when the Court determines how superannuation interests are to be split between the parties. In fact, in most cases superannuation can be considered to be an asset just like any other asset and that it is taken into account as part of the asset pool of the family.

Third party actions

In property cases, usually only the spouses (or the de facto spouses) are parties to the proceedings. However, it is possible to join a third party to the court proceedings if, for example, the Court is satisfied that:

  • an order should be made declaring that an asset legally owned by a third party is in fact owned by one of the spouse;
  • a third party transaction is a sham;
  • a transaction that is likely to defeat an order or an anticipated order should be set aside;
  • the third party is in fact the alter ego or a puppet of one of the parties;
  • an injunction is needed to restrain a third party from taking steps to affect or defeat a spouse’s entitlements;
  • an order is required to direct a third party to assist in carrying out property settlement;
  • the rights of a third party creditor need to be adjusted.

Sometimes a third party may seek to be joined to the proceedings in order to ensure their interests in an asset to the marriage are not defeated.  A common example is that a parent of one of the couples may wish to be joined to the proceedings because the parent has an interest in the matrimonial home which is not reflected in the certificate of title.