.

子女撫養權分配

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

表格11同意書

無論是財務問題還是與子女有關的事情,最好的解決方式都是無需開展法律訴訟即可實現的庭外和解的這一途徑。

與財務事項相似,一旦達成了有關養育安排的協議,雙方應以表格11同意書來記錄協議。

通常來說,避免昂貴和冗長的法律訴訟的關鍵是要儘早處理這些糾紛,並獲得良好的法律意見。儘早瞭解《家庭法法案》條例,對您作為父母的權利和責任有一個更好的瞭解。無論是在保護你的權利,或是加快解決問題的速度上,在你與前伴侶的談判中,你都將有很長的路要走。

您不需要等到正式離婚之後,才申請表格11同意書。事實上,您可以(也應該)在與您的伴侶分居之後就開始進行申請和商討子女撫養權這一問題。

在與你的前伴侶的談判中,子女的興趣應該是唯一的重點。

 

有關子女問題的爭議

在婚姻或事實婚姻/同居關係的破裂這一問題上,人們過度關注財產分割,而忽視了對子女福利和利益的影響,而這一點太普遍了。事實上,在任何關係破裂中,子女的福利和利益應該是首要關注的問題。如果您和您的前伴侶認為離婚是一件很難處理的事,不難想像您的子女也將面臨同樣甚至更為嚴重的苦惱。

在涉及兒童或親職問題的案件中,要求分離家庭必須在法庭訴訟展開前,接受強制性的家庭糾紛調節。有關家庭糾紛調節的更多資訊,請參見家庭糾紛調節

根據《家庭法法規》,“子女監護權”一詞不被使用。 相反,它被稱為“父母責任”。 在決定是否對子女作出特定的撫養令時,法院必須將子女的“最佳利益”視為首要考慮因素。 在決定什麼是符合子女的最大利益的時候,主要的考慮是:

  • 與父母雙方的聯繫,對子女所帶來的利益; 和
  • 需要保護子女免受身體或心理傷害。

此外,法院還會審議子女所表達的意見,子女與其他人(如祖父母和兄弟姐妹)的關係,子女情況發生變化的可能性及影響,子女的背景,子女的態度,是否有家庭暴力等。

您可能從法院尋求的育兒指令類型包括:

  • 子女將和父母的哪一方一同生活;
  • 子女將由父母的哪一方進行探望;
  • 子女將與父母的哪一方進行溝通;或
  • 父母的哪一方將對子女的重大決定上負有責任。

祖父母也可以向法院申請與孫輩有關的撫養命令。祖父母可以尋求的命令包括:為祖父母安排時間和與孫輩溝通,有時(例如,父母雙方都不願意或沒有能力照顧孩子),祖父母將對對孫輩子女行駛唯一的父母責任。

在與子女有關的訴訟中,涉及家事顧問的情況很常見。 家庭顧問的目的是減少訴訟的對抗面。 家庭顧問也可以直接向法院提供證據。 此外,家庭顧問可以與法庭以外的各方一起努力解決爭端。

 

(強制性)家庭糾紛調節

在與子女有關的訴訟中,除非當事人首先參加了家庭糾紛調節,不然法庭不接受其訴訟。 家庭糾紛調節有多種形式,包括:

  • 家庭輔導;
  • 談判;

如果您的事件緊急或有家庭暴力發生,家庭爭議調節的要求就不是強制性的。 在這種情況下,您可以在不參加家庭爭議調節的情況下開始訴訟,但是您需要在申請表上提交豁免表格。

需要注意的是,爭議解決提供者,必須是註冊的家庭爭議調節從業人員,因為如果調節方案不成功,您將需要從執業者那裏獲得證書。 有關與子女有關的訴訟的更多資訊,請參閱子女相關事宜的爭議

如果在家庭糾紛調節之後達成協議,您和另一方可以簽署撫養計畫,或向法院申請同意令

 

子女撫養協議

如果您是子女的主要監護人,您可以根據“子女撫養(評估)法”從另一方獲得子女撫養費。兒童支援機構負責管理兒童撫養安排,包括計算父母應接受的子女撫養費的數額。假設您有其他父母的合作,申請子女撫養費評估則不需要法庭訴訟,而且程式相對簡單。

子女數量由兒童支援機構使用行政方式計算,該方案考慮到父母各自的收入,子女數量,子女年齡及其生活安排。在一些複雜的情況下,可以考慮到孩子或父母的特殊情況。

或者,父母可以就待支付的子女撫養費達成協議。這項協議被稱為子女撫養協議,必須符合立法的要求才能具有約束力。

 

子女居住地更變/遷移

如果您是子女父母的一方,且您想與孩子一起更改居住地,而這一舉動可能會對子女父母的另一方與孩子相處的時間上造成影響,那麼您你應該首先嘗試與子女父母的另一方進行討論。 如果另一方家長不同意您的搬遷,您可能需要向家事法庭申請搬遷更改。

涉及子女居住地更變的案件往往很複雜,結果也難以預測。 在決定是否給予搬遷令時,法院會考慮的最重要的因素是,是否符合子女的最大利益。 法院還將審議每個人為安排該子女住所,多提供的選擇或建議。 您還需要通知法院為什麼需要與孩子一同搬遷。

如果您未經法院命令,或未得到另一方的同意就私自搬遷,法院可能會要求您停止您的行為直到案件結果確定為止。 如果已經下令阻止您搬遷,未經法院許可的情況下,您還是堅持您的行動,您可能會面臨違反法院命令從而得到相應的懲罰,包括監禁。

另一方面,如果您的前伴侶未經您的同意或法院許可,私自對您們的共同子女進行居住所的遷移,並且該舉動可能會影響您與孩子相處的時間,您可以在家庭法院中,申請禁止其搬遷的禁令

 

歸還令

如果您負責子女的撫養,子女家長的另一方沒有得到您的允許就私自將子女帶走,或者沒有按照協議或法庭的命令把子女交給您的照顧,您可以申請歸還令,法院可以要求其將孩子歸還給您。

在決定是否下令追討子女時,法院會審視符合兒童最大利益的情況。 如果決定執行歸還令,法院一般會將命令交給澳大利亞聯邦警察局追回小孩。 鑒於涉及的員警對孩子來說可能很緊張,所以法院一般不會輕易給予歸還令。

如果事情很緊急(例如您對孩子的安全有直接的擔憂),申請歸還令可以是單方面的,法院可以在您提交申請的同一天受理您的申請 。

如果子女未經您的同意或未經法院許可而被帶到海外,如果子女所在的國家是海牙公約的簽字國,您可以向澳大利亞政府總檢察部申請歸還子女。如果這些發生在您的子女身上,您應該立即尋求法律建議。

 

禁止令

禁令是法院作出的約束另一方做某些行為或事情的命令。家事法庭有權給予禁止令,以保護兒童的福利,包括:

  • 為了保護子女,子女的父母或其他照顧者;
  • 限制他人進入某地或在某地點逗留;
  • 限制他人與子女一同搬遷或將子女帶到海外。

通常,禁止令是以緊急和單方面為由提出的

有關財務方面的禁令,請參見財務事項爭議

 

違反命令和強制執行

當法院作出命令(包括雙方同意的命令)時,各方當事人必須遵守。 如果您的前伴侶在沒有提供合理原因和理由的前提下,拒絕執行法院命令,則造成了違反命令的行為,您可以提出違反命令申請。 違反申請將通知法院執行人沒有遵守命令。法院將在執行人違反命令的嚴重程度上,對其進行以下處罰:

  • 支付因違反而招致的任何費用;
  • 支付法律費用;
  • 做社區服務工作;
  • 達成協議;
  • 罰款;
  • 面臨監禁。

通常,在開始違法訴訟之前,您需要邀請對方進行家庭爭議調節。

或者,您可以提出申請來尋求執行父母的命令。在執行程式中,另一方不會因違反父母的命令而受到懲罰,而法庭的命令不會被更改,但法庭可能會作出一項令您得到補償的命令,如允許增加您與子女相處的時間。

.

SEPARATION: CUSTODY AND OTHER CHILD-RELATED MATTERS

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Form 11 Consent Orders

Whether it is financial matters or child-related matters, the best outcome often means an out-of-court settlement is reached without the need to commence legal actions.

Similar to financial matters , once an agreement about what parenting arrangement is reached the parties should record the agreement by way of a Form 11 application for consent orders.

Often, the key to avoid expensive and lengthy legal proceedings is to attend to the disputes and obtain sound legal advice at the earliest possible opportunity. Having a good understanding of your rights and responsibilities as a parent under the Family Law Act will go a long way in your negotiations with your ex-partner.

You do not have to wait until you are formally divorced before you can make a Form 11 Consent Orders Application for parenting orders. In fact, you can (and probably should) start negotiation with your ex-partner immediately after separation.

In your negotiation with your ex-partner, the interest of the child should be the sole emphasis.

Disputes on child related matters

It is far too common that parties to a marriage or de facto relationship breakdown neglected to have significant regards to the welfare of their children and subconsciously focused too narrowly on property division. In fact, the welfare and interest of the children should always be the primary concern in any relationship breakdown.  If you and your ex-partner find the breakdown to be very stressful, it is not hard to imagine the children will find it extremely difficult to cope with.

In a case involving children or parenting issues, it is a requirement that the separating family must undergo a Compulsory Family Dispute Resolution before court proceedings can be commenced. For more information about Family Dispute Resolution, please see Family dispute resolution.

Under the Family Law Act, the term “child custody” is not used. Instead, it is referred to as “parental responsibility”.  In deciding whether to make a particular parenting order in relation to a child, the Court must regard the “best interests” of the child as the paramount consideration. In deciding what is in the best interests of the child, the primary considerations are:

  • the benefit to the child of having a meaningful relationship with both parents; and
  • the need to protect the child from physical or psychological harm.

In addition, the Court will also consider things such as views expressed by the child, the child’s relationship with other persons (e.g. grandparents and siblings), likely effect of any changes in the child’s circumstances, the child’s background, the child’s attitude, any family violence etc.

The types of parenting orders you may seek from the Court include:

  • who a child live with;
  • who a child will spend time with;
  • who a child will communicate with; or
  • who has responsibility for major decision about the child.

A grandparent may also apply to the Court for parenting orders in relation to the grandchildren. The orders a grandparent may seek include orders for the grandparent to spend time and communicate with the grandchildren and in some cases (for example, when both parents are unwilling or unable to care for the child) orders that the grandparent has sole parental responsibility for the child.

In child related proceedings, it is common that a family consultant is involved. The aim of the family consultant is to reduce the adversarial aspect of the litigation.  The family consultant can also provide evidence directly to the court. Also, the family consultant may work with the parties outside of the courtroom in trying to resolve the dispute.

(Compulsory) Family dispute resolution

In child related proceedings, the Court will not accept an application unless the parties had first attended family dispute resolution. Family dispute resolution comes in many forms, including services like:

  • family counselling;
  • negotiation; or

There are exceptions to the requirement for Family Dispute Resolution, for example, if your matter is urgent or family violence has occurred.  In such cases, you may commence proceedings without first attending Family Dispute Resolution but you will need to file an exemption form with your application.

It is important to ensure that the dispute resolution provider is a registered Family Dispute Resolution Practitioner because you will need to obtain a certificate from the practitioner if the resolution is not successful. For more information about commencing child related proceedings, see Disputes on child related matter.

If an agreement is reached after the family dispute resolution, you and the other party may enter into a Parenting Plan or apply to the Court for a consent order.

Child support arrangements

If you are the primary carer of a child, you may entitle to receive child support from the other parent pursuant to the Child Support (Assessment) Act.  The Child Support Agency is responsible for administering child support arrangements including calculating the amount of child support a parent should be receiving. Applying for child support assessment does not require court proceedings and the process is relatively simple, assuming you have the other parent’s co-operation.

The amount of child is calculated by the Child Support Agency using an administrative formula which takes into account the parents respective income, number of children, age of the children and their living arrangements. In some complex cases, the special circumstances of the children or the parents can be taken into account.

Alternatively, the parents may reach an agreement on the amount of child support to be paid. This agreement is call a child support agreement and must meet the requirements of the legislation in order to be binding.

Relocation of children

If you are the parent of a child and you want to move with the child and that move will likely to impact on the other parent spending time with the child, you should first try to discuss it with the other parent. If the other parent does not agree to your relocation, you may have to apply to the Family Court for a relocation order.

Cases involving relocation of children are often complex and the outcome is difficult to be predicted. In determining whether or not to grant a relocation order, the most important consideration the Court will take into account is what is in the best interests of the child. The Court will also examine what options or proposals each person has made for the arrangements for the child. You will also need to inform the Court as to why you need to relocate with the child.

If you move without a court order or without the consent of the other party, the Court may require you to return until the case is finalised. If there is an order preventing you from relocating, doing so without the court’s permission will be in breach of a court order and you may face punishments including imprisonment.

On the other hand, if your ex-partner relocates with the child without your consent or the Court’s permission and the move is likely to impact you spending time with the child, you may apply for an injunction in the Family Court stopping the relocation.

Recovery Order

If you are responsible for the child’s care and the other parent takes the child away without your permission or fails to return the child to your care pursuant to an agreement/court orders, you may apply for a recovery order which the Court can require a child to be returned to you.

In determining whether or not to make an order for recovery of the child, the Court looks at what is in the best interests of the child. If a recovery order is made, the Court will generally direct the order to the Australian Federal Police for the recovery of the child. Given that having the police involved is likely to be very stressful to the child, the Court will not grant a recovery order lightly.

If the matter is urgent (e.g. you have immediate concerns about your child’s safety), the application for recovery order can be made on an ex-parte basis and the Court may be able to hear your case on the same day as you filed your application.

If the child has been taken overseas without your consent or without the court’s permission, you may make an application in the Australian Government Attorney-General’s Department for the return of the children if the country to which the child was taken is a signatory to the Hague Convention. If this happens to your child, you should seek urgent legal advice.

Injunctions

An injunction is an order made by the Court to restrain the other party from doing certain acts or things. Under the Family Law Act, the Family Court has the power to grant an injunction to protect the welfare of a child. The injunction may be:

  • for the personal protection of the child, the child’s parents or other carers;
  • to restrain a person from entering or remaining in a place;
  • restraining a person from relocating with the child or taking the child overseas.

Often, an application for injunction has to be made urgently and on an ex-parte basis.

For injunction in financial matters, please see Disputes on financial matters.

Contravention/enforcement

When the Court makes orders (including orders made by consent), they must be followed by the parties. If your ex-partner refuses or fails to follow parenting orders without reasonable excuse, it is a contravention of the orders and you may make an application for contravention. An application for contravention informs the Court that the orders made by the Court are not being followed and upon satisfying of the contraventions, the Court may make the other person:

  • pay any expenses that you had incurred as a result of the contravention;
  • pay legal costs;
  • do community service work;
  • be put on a bond;
  • pay a fine; or
  • face imprisonment.

Usually, you will need to invite the other person to Family Dispute Resolution before commencing contravention proceedings.

Alternatively, you may make an application seeking enforcement of the parenting orders. In enforcement proceedings, the other person will not be punished for breaching the parenting orders and the orders will not be changed by the Court, but the Court may make an order that will compensate you such as allowing more time for you to spend with the child.