家庭法--資產分配

問題
李先生和李太太已經結婚了二十五年以上。 在整個關係中,通過努力工作和投資,李先生和李太太累積資產價值已經達到約四百萬元。

李先生和李太太分居,隨後離婚。 他們自分居以來就如何分配資產進行了廣泛的談判。 他們無法達成令人滿意的條件協議。

李先生與我們事務所協商,協助他解決與前配偶的財務糾紛問題。

解決辦法

首先,我們建議李先生通過談判協商的方式與李太太解決這個問題。 根據我們的意見,李先生建議將他和李太太之間的所有資產分配到50/50。 不過,李太太明確表示,除非得到更大的資產分配,否則她不同意協商。

財務訴訟即將到期(定於離婚令作出一年後),李先生沒有其他的選擇,被迫在家事法庭提出訴訟。

法院訴訟尤其複雜,原因是前夫妻在共同婚姻的時間內,購買和出售各種財產和業務,涉及大量交易。

 

結果 

當訴訟程式達到各方必須準備好接受審判的階段時,我們邀請李太太和她的法定代表人,最後嘗試通會議的方式來解決爭端,並邀請調解員(曾是家事法庭法官)出席了會議。

由於這一舉措,李先生和李太太在會議結束時,達成了協議。 根據有關協議規定,李先生和李太太的所有資產,將按50/50的比例分配給各方。 通過鄧家駿律師事務所律師的指導,我們的客戶成功地獲得了滿足各方的結果,解決了爭議,防止了進一步的冗長,壓力和昂貴的法律訴訟。

Family Law property division

Problem

Mr Lee and Mrs Lee had been married for over 25 years. Throughout the relationship, as a result of hard work and smart investments, Mr Lee and Mrs Lee had accumulated assets worth approximately $4 million.

Mr Lee and Mrs Lee were separated and subsequently divorced. Since separation, Mr Lee and Mrs Lee have had extensive negotiations with respect to how their assets should to be divided. They were unable to reach a mutually satisfying agreement of terms.

Mr Lee engaged our firm to assist him to resolve his financial dispute with his former partner.

Solution

At the outset, we advised Mr Lee to resolve the dispute with Mrs Lee by way of alternative dispute resolution. Based on our advice, Mr Lee proposed to have all assets divided between him and Mrs Lee on a 50/50 basis. However, Mrs Lee made it clear she was not prepared to settle unless she receive a substantially larger division of the assets.

Left with little options, and with the limitation period to commence financial proceedings looming (set at one year after the divorce order is made), Mr Lee was forced to commence proceedings in the Family Court.

The court proceedings were particularly complex due to the large amount of transactions involving purchase and sale of various properties and businesses made by the former husband and wife over an extensive period of time.

Outcome

When the proceedings were reaching the stage in which the parties had to prepare themselves for a lengthy trial, we invited Mrs Lee and her legal representatives for a final attempt to settle the dispute by way of a round table conference before a mediator who was a former Family Court Judge.

As a result of this initiative, Mr Lee and Mrs Lee were able to reach an agreement to settle at the conclusion of the conference. The agreement to settle relevantly provided that all assets were to be divided between Mr Lee and Mrs Lee on a 50/50 basis. Through Tang Legal’s guidance, our client thus succeeded in obtaining an outcome which satisfied all parties, resolved the dispute, and forestalled further lengthy, stressful and costly legal proceedings.